LibGuides: The Vincentians: A Guide to CRRA Content: Home

CRRA Links

Learn the Basics

Videos

Vincent de Paul: Charity's Saint
From DePaul University
St. Vincent de Paul: A Person of the Seventeenth Century
From DePaul University

Introduction

Welcome to this CRRA research guide on St. Vincent de Paul, the Vincentians, and other institutes that follow his rule. It will link you to electronic collections of Vincentian materials online, as well as to links that will search the Catholic Portal for Vincentian texts and subjects, as well as materials on related orders.

We hope that you will find this research guide useful in getting at the wealth of materials presented online by CRRA member libraries and in the Catholic Portal.

Portrait of St. Vincent de Paul by Simon Francois de Tours, 17th century, Public domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons

Search the Catholic Portal

Vincent de Paul: Charity's Saint
From DePaul University

Below you will find pairs of links. Some contain the word "Author." Clicking these will search the Catholic Portal for all items written by that person (or organization). Some contain the word "Subject." Clicking these will search for all materials about that person (or organization).

Credit for this guide

This very useful LibGuide was created by Ted Bergfelt of Duquesne University, who generously gave us permission to copy it for your use.

Loyola Marymount University, formerly Loyola University of Los Angeles, traces its history back to Vincentian roots: Loyola College, the 1911 beginning of the institution, was the successor to St. Vincent's College, a Vincentian institution which was the very first college in Los Angeles, founded in 1865. The Vincentians are still involved in Los Angeles, running St. John's in Camarillo, the Catholic seminary for the Los Angeles Archdiocese.

The William H. Hannon Library's Department of Archives & Special Collections is a participating member and contributor to CRRA's Catholic Portal.

Online Collections From CRRA Libraries

Vincentian Post Cards
From DePaul University. Spanning 200 years, these postcards reflect the heritage of the religious orders, the growth of social institutions, advancements in technology and changes in urban environments. The images in this collection include institutions such as hospitals, churches and seminaries. Some highlights of the collection are French postcards relevant to St. Vincent's life, the residence of Estelle Doheny who was a patron of the Vincentians, and posed scenes of models acting out the work of Daughters of Charity in France.

Below are direct links to rare and important digitized collections from CRRA Libraries.

Vincentian Post Cards
From DePaul University. Spanning 200 years, these postcards reflect the heritage of the religious orders, the growth of social institutions, advancements in technology and changes in urban environments. The images in this collection include institutions such as hospitals, churches and seminaries. Some highlights of the collection are French postcards relevant to St. Vincent's life, the residence of Estelle Doheny who was a patron of the Vincentians, and posed scenes of models acting out the work of Daughters of Charity in France.
Vincentian Post Cards
From DePaul University. Spanning 200 years, these postcards reflect the heritage of the religious orders, the growth of social institutions, advancements in technology and changes in urban environments. The images in this collection include institutions such as hospitals, churches and seminaries. Some highlights of the collection are French postcards relevant to St. Vincent's life, the residence of Estelle Doheny who was a patron of the Vincentians, and posed scenes of models acting out the work of Daughters of Charity in France.
Vincentian Post Cards
From DePaul University. Spanning 200 years, these postcards reflect the heritage of the religious orders, the growth of social institutions, advancements in technology and changes in urban environments. The images in this collection include institutions such as hospitals, churches and seminaries. Some highlights of the collection are French postcards relevant to St. Vincent's life, the residence of Estelle Doheny who was a patron of the Vincentians, and posed scenes of models acting out the work of Daughters of Charity in France.
Vincentian Post Cards
From DePaul University. Spanning 200 years, these postcards reflect the heritage of the religious orders, the growth of social institutions, advancements in technology and changes in urban environments. The images in this collection include institutions such as hospitals, churches and seminaries. Some highlights of the collection are French postcards relevant to St. Vincent's life, the residence of Estelle Doheny who was a patron of the Vincentians, and posed scenes of models acting out the work of Daughters of Charity in France.
Elizabeth Ann Seton Letters
This small collection includes letters from Elizabeth Ann Seton to Matthias and Joseph O'Conway. Matthias, a prominent Philadelphia especially within the Catholic community, was a the father of Cecilia O'Conway, Philadelphia's first nun and the first woman to join Seton's order, the Sisters of Charity. The correspondence is personal in nature and relates to several members of the O'Conway family. These materials are owned by the American Catholic Historical Society and maintained at the Philadelphia Archdiocesan Historical Research Center, 100 E. Wynnewood Rd. Wynnewood, PA 19096.