LibGuides: FFYS 1000: Your Future Career in the Global Marketplace : Welcome!

Welcome to FFYS 1000

Welcome FFYS 1000

This library guide will assist you in locating and evaluating sources for your FFYS: Your Future Career in the Global Marketplace course. Many of the resources on this guide will support you with your team project, case study, written assignments and target country analysis paper.

Books for FFYS 1000 Course

Callings : The Purpose and Passion of Work by Dave Isay
ISBN: 9781101980859
Publication Date: 2016
Stories of passion, courage, and commitment, following individuals as they pursue the work they were born to do, from StoryCorps founder Dave Isay In Callings, StoryCorps founder Dave Isay presents unforgettable stories from people doing what they love. Some found their paths at a very young age, others later in life; some overcame great odds or upturned their lives in order to pursue what matters to them. Many of their stories have never been broadcast or published by StoryCorps until now. We meet a man from the barrios of Texas whose harrowing experiences in a family of migrant farmers inspired him to become a public defender. We meet a longtime waitress who takes pride in making regulars and newcomers alike feel at home in her Nashville diner.

*Note: This book can be used by up to two readers at one time. If you are the 3rd student trying to access the
book and are turned away, you will need to try again at a later time.
The Culture Map by Erin Meyer
ISBN: 9781610392594
Publication Date: 2014-05-27
An international business expert helps you understand and navigate cultural differences in this insightful and practical guide, perfect for both your work and personal life. Americans precede anything negative with three nice comments; French, Dutch, Israelis, and Germans get straight to the point; Latin Americans and Asians are steeped in hierarchy; Scandinavians think the best boss is just one of the crowd. It's no surprise that when they try and talk to each other, chaos breaks out.

*Note:This book can be used by only one reader at one time. If you are the 2nd student trying to access the
book and are turned away, you will need to try again at a later time.

Resources for Today's Workshop

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text information about controversial social issues.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Primary Sources; Opinion Pieces
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Business
Description: Research database from ProQuest containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Company Reports; Industry Reports
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Business
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Company Reports; Industry Reports; SWOT Analysis; Country Reports
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Business, Economics, Entrepreneurship
Description: Research database containing a collection of industry market research and industry risk ratings on over 1300 U.S. industries.
Contents: Industry Reports; Industry Ratios; Market Share Reports
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Business
Description: Research database containing company, industry, and executive information. Includes materials from the last 10 years.
Contents: Company Reports; Financials; Industry Ratios; Industry Reports; Executives Directory; Company ESG Ratings
Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Business
Description: Research database from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text. Mainly focused on the U.S. for industry profiles and international focus for company reports.
Contents: Trade/Professional Articles; Company Reports; Industry Reports; SWOT Analysis; Case Studies; Market Share Reports

Power Point

Resources Offered by CBA

Bloomberg Terminals
CBA offers access to 12 Bloomberg Terminals located in the Finance Learning Lab in Hilton. Students also have the ability to become Bloomberg Market Concepts (BMC) certified. Three more Bloomberg terminals have been placed in the William H. Hannon Library on the second floor. These three terminals can be accessed during library operating hours.
Capital IQ
CBA offers access to S&P's Capital IQ, provider of financial research, ratings, and market indices. Visit www.capitaliq.com and click on “New User” to create an account.
Financial Times (Online)
CBA offers access to FT.com. Go to ft.com/lmu and use your LMU email address to create an account.

FFYS 1000: Your Future Career in the Global Marketplace

Business Librarian

Chat with us!