Get assistance via Virtual Reference, available 24/7!
This link opens in a new windowSubjects: History, English, Philosophy, Comparative Literature
Description: Collection of handbooks containing authoritative essays, chronologies, and guides for further reading.
Contents: E-Books; Bibliographies; Authoritative Essays
Subjects: Theological Studies, Philosophy, Classics and Archaeology, Catholic Studies, Ethics, Jewish Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1880s-present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Books; Book Chapters; Book Reviews
Subjects: Theological Studies, Philosophy, Catholic Studies,Ethics,Jewish Studies
Description: Research database containing links to other information sources. Includes materials from 1950-present. Mainly focused on North America, Europe, and the Middle East. Summaries of articles originally written in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages. Covers theology and religious studies, especially Biblical studies, Christianity, and Judaism.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles
This link opens in a new windowSubjects: MANY
Description: General research database containing full text. Most recent 3-5 years of articles may not be available.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; E-books; Primary Sources; Book Reviews; Book Chapters
Women's involvement with religion goes back to Eve, although there were some women with recognized theological authority (e.g. Mary Magdalen and Catherine of Siena in Christianity), recognized formal scholarship by women in the West had to wait until modern times. Feminist theology rose as a natural outgrowth of the women's movement of the 1960s beginning slowly, but eventually moving into areas like the womanist and mujerista movements here, and movements in many world religions as well. This guide is meant to help find information about this growing field and its complexities, new outgrowths and areas of exploration.
The Seven Masters of Quanzhen
Changchun Temple, Wuhan
"Mary was more important than the Apostles, bishops, and so women in the Church are also more important than bishops and priests. There is a great need for theology to better explore the role of women in the Church."
