Get assistance via Virtual Reference, available 24/7!
Select the Tab/Page above which is most appropriate for your search. Here is a little something about each of the pages:
Background Info: This page contains links and some call numbers for reference books and other materials which can help you get started with an overview to broaden or narrow your focus to a searchable topic. You will also expand your search vocabulary, see what some experts think, and often get a recommendation for a good book or article on your topic.
Books: This page gives you a direct link to LINUS, the Library's catalog, as well as some sample Subject and Keyword searches that might get you started. It also has a description and link to the LINK+ combined catalog of more than 40 libraries from which you can borrow books with your OneCard name and Library number.
Databases: To find Articles, Chapters, etc., this page gives you a list of some of our many indexing databases; these are focused on theology and religion. There are also links for online and print journals with relevance to this course.
Expert Lists and Directories: This page has links, and sometimes descriptions, of online sites that list good, selected and examined Web sites for theology and religion. This is much more efficient than taking a chance that a browser will give you reliable, authoritative sites on your topic. These lists are usually created by professionals in the field, graduate departments, and dedicated organizations.
Theological Texts: Collections These are usually multi-authored texts brought together in one Web site. They range from early Christian and other relgious texts to more modern theologians' work.
Theological Texts: Individual Authors There are two boxes here. One contains link to a selective list of theologians working in Latino/a theology.The larger box is of links to texts of classical Christian theologians. Search for the desired author on the list. Note that many modern authors' works are not available online due to copyright. Some of the items, therefore, are online bibliographies that can help you track down a particular book or article, or get correct/complete information to make your hunt easier.
Biblical Studies: A collection of versions, sample tools and helps for studying the Bible.
Writing Helps: This page has helps for your in-text and footnote citations and writing style, for locating statistics, polls etc. from organizations, and a couple of helps regarding the avoidance of plagiarism.
Organizations: This page lists some denominational and interdenominational sites for organizations working in Latino/a theology and Hispanic ministry.
Citing Sources: Some specific tools and sites to help you with citation format for U. of Chicago and other styles.
