LibGuides: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer Research Tools: Home

Welcome to the Library!

Welcome! This guide was created to help LMU students find and use library resources for LGBTQ topics and studies. It is a work in progress, so all feedback, questions, or suggestions are encouraged. Please leave a comment anywhere on the guide.

Reference Works

Use these encyclopedias and dictionaries to give you definitions, critical terms, overviews, and further references.

Selected references are also featured in the "Getting Started" section of this LibGuide.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General e-book collection containing full text.
Contents: E-books; Bibliographies
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General e-book collection from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text.
Contents: eBooks; Encyclopedias.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General encyclopedia containing full text.
Contents: E-books; Encyclopedias

Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History by Howard Chiang
Publication Date: 2018
"Takes an interdisciplinary approach to the subject, using film, literature, human rights, politics, landmark legislation, activism, the arts, language, sports, and historical events as points of entry into the content"
The Cambridge Companion to Queer Studies by Siobhan B. Somerville (Editor)
Publication Date: 2020
This Companion provides a guide to queer inquiry in literary and cultural studies. The essays represent new and emerging areas, including transgender studies, indigenous studies, disability studies, queer of color critique, performance studies, and studies of digital culture.

Other Helpful LibGuides

Special Thanks

This LibGuide was originally produced by UCLA MLIS candidate Lise Deary in Spring 2011.