American Memory/Library of Congress
The American Memory project from the Library of Congress provides access to several hundred early motion pictures, organized into 11 discrete collections:
- America at Work, America at Leisure: Motion Pictures from 1894-1915
- American Variety Stage: Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment, 1870-1920
- Before and After the Great Earthquake and Fire: Early Films of San Francisco, 1897-1916
- Inside an American Factory: Films of the Westinghouse Works, 1904
- Last Days of a President: Films of McKinley and the Pan-American Exposition, 1901
- Life of a City: Early Films of New York, 1898-1906
- Origins of American Animation
- Prosperity and Thrift: the Coolidge Era and the Consumer Economy, 1921-1929
- Spanish-American War in Motion Pictures
- Theodore Roosevelt: His Life and Times on Film
Alexander Press Critical Video Collections
Alexander Street Press databases provides subject-specific content developed by the BBC, Creative Arts Television, ArtHaus Musik, Pennebaker, Hegedus Films, Cunningham Dance Foundation, Insight Media, and many other publishers and broadcast companies.
All content is indexed and searchable including full-text transcripts available for many of the videos. Users can search by date, performers, other names, scene, aria, etc. Sequential thumbnail photos for some videos facilitates previewing content quickly.
The Alexander Street Press interface also provides ability to cite videos to the specific second with permanent URLs. Other features built into Critical Video Editions include custom clip-making tools, personal playlists, and embeddable links.
Alexander Street continues to add new content to each of the collections. Titles in the collection include:
- American History in Video
- Counseling and Therapy in Video
- Dance in Video
- Opera in Video
- Theatre in Video
Using Streaming Collections in ERes or Blackboard
All videos in the Alexander Press Critical Video collections are licensed by the William H. Hannon Library and can be used in ERes, Blackboard, syllabi, documents, and other webpages. Remote (off campus) use of licensed resources requires users to be authenticated into the resource site.
To link to videos in Alexander Street Press Critical Video Editions:
- Identify a video in a Critical Video Edition database.
- Click on the "Embed/Link" icon at the top of video playback display
- A new window will open displaying a URL for the video
- Example: http://ahiv.alexanderstreet.com/View/519914
- The last component of that ULR is a number identifying the specific video
- This new URL is now ready to be linked from Blackboard, syllabi, documents, or web page
For help, please contact Rhonda Rosen, firstname.lastname@example.org or (310)-338-4584
For the Love of Culture: Google, Copyright and Our Future, by Lawrence Lessig
A trade group goes after UCLA for posting copyrighted videos on course Web sites -- and hints that other colleges might be next.
More on Streaming Video, by Peggy Hoon
Can we Stream Digital Video?, posted by Kevin Smith, Duke University