LibGuides: Dance: Home

Welcome!

This guide is designed to help LMU students and faculty find and access resources in Dance. Explore the information in this guide to discover useful places to search for background information, books, articles, and more.

Most Useful Places to Search: Dance

Dance Databases

Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Art History, Studio Arts, Classics and Archaeology
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1984-present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Book Reviews
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theatre Arts, Film Television and Media Studies
Description: Primary source collection containing full text plays, film and audio adaptations, and image collections. LMU has access to selected content in this database.
Contents: Primary Sources
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theatre Arts, Dance
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books; Book Reviews
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Biology, Health and Human Sciences, Biochemistry
Description: Research database from Thomson Reuters containing links to other information sources. Includes materials from 1950-present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Book Chapters; Book Reviews
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Psychology, Education, Sociology
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1800s-present about psychology.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Book Chapters; Dissertations
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Coaching and Education. Exercise Science and Fitness. Kinesiology. Nutrition. Occupational Health and Safety. Physical Education. Physical Therapy. Sports Sciences.
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1930-present. Includes literature for sports and sports medicine studies from many respected journals, including extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health, and sport studies.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Books; Book Chapters

Dance Film Collections

Academic Video Online
Video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, demonstrations, and raw footage. Includes PBS and BroadwayHD titles.
Dance Online
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection from ProQuest containing dance productions and documentaries about ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance. Includes materials from 1901-present.
Digital Theatre Plus
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video database containing high-quality films of leading theatre productions. Includes dance performances from the 20th century to present.
Docuseek 2
- This link opens in a new window
General streaming video collection of documentaries. Enter "Dance" into the keyword search for choreographer documentaries, performance films, and more.
Drama Online
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source collection containing full text plays, film and audio adaptations, and image collections. LMU has access to selected content in this database. Dance materials can be viewed by exploring by Genres and Forms.
Films on Demand
General streaming video collection containing educational films. Video may be used for classroom teaching, research, presentations, and educational non-commercial multimedia projects for use in educational institutions, provided no admission or other fees are charged for public viewing. Dance materials are found by exploring by Subject.
HistoryMakers Digital Archive
This multidisciplinary oral history provides high-quality video content, fully searchable transcripts, and unique stories from historically significant African American choreographers, dancers, artistic directors, and more. Filtering stories to "ArtMaker" to find dance materials.
Human Kinetics Dance Technique
- This link opens in a new window
Contains videos and audio clips alongside ebooks and images on dance instruction
On the Boards
A website providing HD-quality contemporary performance films available for streaming. Filmed at the On the Boards Center, as well as peer theaters across the United States, the performances present a snapshot of the newest works by current leaders in dance, theater, and music.

Best Dance Papers

Dance Department Best Papers
Explore the dance research produced at LMU! These student papers are selected through a double-blind peer review process by the LMU National Dance Education Organization Student Chapter review committee, in collaboration with LMU librarians and dance faculty.