LibGuides: World Religions Resources: Web Sites

Exploring the Web

By now you know the Web can contain really good information, but also skewed or misleading "information" ... or pure garbage. You can just dig around for a while, OR you can save time and get better information by seeing what sites other folks have found to be really good. In the box to the right, see some Expert Lists of links on Religion, as well as a Directory which pre-examines and describes good sites.

The Prophet Ezekiel

Ezekiel

Portico of Modena Cathedral

photo: T. Amodeo 2010

Some good links

Websites on Religion (Wabash Center)
This expert list covers a wide variety of religions and religion-related topics. Fun to explore.
Links from the American Theological Library Association
The international non-profit organization has compiled this list of non-sectarian sites
Virtual Religion Index
Wide-ranging lists of links organized by subject. Includes religions, denominations and related areas (philosophy, near eastern, east asian, native american studies, etc.)
Religious Studies Web Guide
Collection of links organized by two theological librarians.
Web Search Engines for Religion
This site uses Google to search selected sites on religion and theology
Set up by the JKM Library, this searches 57 religion sites on the Web
Intute Religion Links
IPL2
A searchable directory of links; each link has a description of that site written by a librarian. Site merges California's Librarians' Index to the Internet with the Internet Public Library.
Religious Tolerance
Ontario Consutants on Religious Tolerance site appealing to all people of good will, whether religious or not. Works to undercut stereotypes, false information, and for freedom of religion.
Forum on Religion and Ecology (Yale U.)
Try looking under "World Religions" tab to see how a specific religious tradition is dealing with the ecological crisis.
African Traditional Religion
Personal Web site of Chidi Denis Isizoh, with essays on aspects of African religion, including the diaspora.
BuddhaNet
Worldwide Buddhist Information
Overview of the Coptic Christians of Egypt
A tourism site from the Egyptian government provides this short but weighty summary of the religion, feasts, and liturgy of the Coptic Christians, one of the earliest Apostolic Christian churches, dating from the Christian community of Alexandria.
Religion in Eastern Europe
From George Fox University, a serial containing papers on a wide spread of issues regarding Eastern Europe and the religions and religious life therein.
Bibliographies on Theology and Ethics
Individual bibliographies on a number of topcs, compiled by Charles Bellinger. You can use these lists to identify good works on your topic, then check against LINUS and our Journal List to see if they are available here.
US Catholic Bishops list on ecumenical dialogues: Islam
A link to various dialogues between Roman Catholic entities and Muslim entities in the United States.
Internet Resources: Moral Theology
Elizabeth Knuth (College of St. Benedict/St. John's University, MN) maintains this expert list, with a lot of good information.
Papal and episcopal documents on Catholic Social Teaching
Includes documents going back to Pope Leo XIII. Warning: a few "broken" links that don't work.

Nederlander Jain

Jain Temple, Netherlands

Source: Wikipedia Commons