Word Study tools allow research on the contextual meaning for a word or phrase(s) you want to examine closely. The box at the center is a selected list of such tools.
Ezekiel
Portico of Modena Cathedral (detail), ca. 1100 C.E.
photo: T. Amodeo 2010
DICTIONARIES - for word definitions
Expository Dictionary of Bible Words Organized by English words, but gives and analyzes original Hebrew/Aramaic and Greek biblical vocabulary.
Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament
DICTIONARIES - for definitions, historical context of biblical phrases and concepts
HarperCollins' Bible Dictionary
Dictionary of Biblical Interpretation (Hayes)
Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the Bible
New Interpreters Dictionary of the Bible
Theological Lexicon of the Old Testament
Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament
Bibloi - searchable CD-ROM product incorporating full texts (various translations and originals) Reference tools, concordance creation, etc. Note that this is only available in the Library, networked on the Reference computers. Click on the link below to access the LINUS record, which has exact steps for accessing the CD in the Library.
Bibloi (formerly Bible Windows) includes a large, polyglot collection of Bible texts (Hebrew, Greek -- including the Septuagint -- several English versions, German and Latin versions), with the ability to create concordances. Includes several reference books, including bilingual dictionaries. Includes supplemental additional texts (O.T. Pseudepigrapha, Didache, Clement,etc. and the Rheims-Douay version).
