LibGuides: Asian Pacific American Studies: Databases (Articles)

Most Useful Databases: Asian Pacific American Studies

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1887-present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Book Reviews
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Asian and Pacific Studies, History, Theological Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1971-present. Mainly focused on East, Southeast, and South Asia.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History, Archaeology, Anthropology, Ethnography
Description: Research database containing full text. Includes ethnographic information on cultures from all regions of the world.
Contents: Encyclopedias
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1990-present. Mainly focused on the African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, and Native experiences.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History, Humanities, European Studies, Catholic Studies, Irish Studies, Peace Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Focused on the history of the world from 1450 forward, excluding the United States and Canada.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books; Book Chapters; E-books; Book Reviews
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database containing full text. Most recent 3-5 years of articles may not be available.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; E-books; Primary Sources; Book Reviews; Book Chapters
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; E-books.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. It covers over 150 subjects and topics.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Industry Reports
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1972-present. Provides access to a wide assortment of English-language journals in the social sciences with detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Trade/Professional Articles
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Sociology
Description: Research database from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1952-present. Mainly focused on North American and Western European journals.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Dissertations

Asian American Studies Journals

Journal of Asian American Studies
Journal of Asian American Studies (JAAS) explores all aspects of Asian American experiences through original articles detailing new theoretical developments, research results, methodological innovations, public policy concerns, and pedagogical issues. The Journal also publishes book, media, and exhibition reviews.
Amerasia Journal
Since 1971, Amerasia Journal has been the leading interdisciplinary journal in Asian American and Pacific Islander studies. For almost five decades, Amerasia Journal has played an indispensable role in establishing Asian American studies as a viable and relevant field of scholarship, teaching, community service, and public discourse.
Asian American Law Journal
The Asian American Law Journal (AALJ) is one of only two law journals in the United States focusing on Asian American communities in its publication agenda. Known as the Asian Law Journal until 2007, AALJ was first published in October 1993 in a joint publication with the California Law Review. AALJ's first independent issue was published in May 1994. AALJ is published annually, and each volume typically contains articles, book reviews, essays and other contributions from scholars, practitioners, policymakers, and students.
Asian American Policy Review
Founded in 1989, the Asian American Policy Review is the first nonpartisan academic journal in the country dedicated to analyzing public policy issues facing the Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) community.
Asian American Literature: Discourses & Pedagogies
Asian American Literature: Discourses & Pedagogies focuses on the production, collection, and distribution of accessible high quality research on Asian American Literature for students, teachers, and the general public.
Alon: Journal for Filipinx American and Diasporic Studies
The mission of Alon is to provide an on-line forum for publishing original and refereed essays, artwork, reviews, and moderated reflections that productively and critically engage with Filipinx American and Filipinx Diasporic Studies.
Chinese America: History and Perspectives
Chinese America: History & Perspectives–The Journal of the Chinese Historical Society of America is published annually by CHSA.
Hmong Studies Journal
The Hmong Studies Journal is a unique and established peer-reviewed Internet-based academic publication devoted to the scholarly discussion of Hmong history, Hmong culture, Hmong people, and other facets of the Hmong experience in the U.S., Asia and around the world.
Browse Ethnic Studies Journals
Browse Journals at LMU