Featured Resource
Discovering American Women's History Online
Sabina Minthorn, Cayuse Indian, with infant in cradle
Lee Moorhouse 1897 - 1920
This database simplifies access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.
LMU Library Primary Source Collections
- Social and Cultural History
More than 650,000 pages of letters, diaries, autobiographies, oral histories, and other personal narratives dating from 1675 to the present, from more than 8,000 individual writers. - Women and Social Movements
Materials about the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Includes primary source documents.
Primary Sources on the Internet
- American Memory (Library of Congress) "Votes for Women" Suffrage Pictures, 1850-1920
- American Women: Library of Congress A Library of Congress Guide for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States. Includes photographs, manuscripts, maps, and more.
- Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement An online archival collection through Duke University. Focus is specifically on the radical origins of this movement during the late 1960s and early 1970s.
- Gifts of Speech: Women's Speeches from Around the World
- Women Working. 1800-1930 Focuses on women's role in the U.S. economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections.
What is a Primary Source?
Primary sources are materials that were produced during the period you
are researching or by people who witnessed or were involved in events.
They include materials such as letters, diaries, speeches, company
records, government documents, newspapers, films, photographs,
artifacts, etc.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait