Last Updated: Apr 21, 2014
This LibGuide is designed to help students and researchers in Classics and Archaeology navigate LMU Library resources relevant to their field.
Resources reflect a collaboration between librarians, faculty, and students in ARCH 402 Spring 2009.
It is a work-in-progress, so any and all feedback is encouraged! Please leave a comment anywhere on the guide.
Search the Library Catalog
LINUS is the Library's catalog. Use it to find books, E-books, videos and other materials that LMU owns or has on reserve. Can't find what you're looking for in LINUS? Try LINK+. (What is LINK+?)
Use the following resources to look for journals and articles in the fields of Classics and Archaeology.
(Note: additional, more specialized databases are included in subject tabs above.)
- L'Annee Philologique
Comprehensive scholarly index to articles, books, and conferences in Classics, covering 1959-present. Index only, no full text.
JSTOR offers interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles. Typically, coverage ends 3-5 years before the present date, a "moving wall" system that protects publishers from last revenue for recent articles.
- Project MUSE
Project MUSE provides 100% full-text online access and deep indexing to a selection of peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences journals. Currently, MUSE provides full-text access to current content from over 400 titles from not-for-profit publishers.
- Philosopher's Index
A current bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major areas of philosophy and related fields. The Philosopher’s Index features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index contains research published since 1940 including journals with content representing a variety of languages.
- Cambridge Journals
Full text of over 250 journals published by Cambridge University Press, in a range of academic subjects including the sciences, religious studies, humanities, and social sciences.
Full text to over 30,000 books in many disciplines from leading academic and professional publishers.
- Cambridge Companions Complete Collection
Cambridge Companions are introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods. All are collections of specially commissioned essays, shaped and introduced to appeal to student readers. Together the chapters add up to a systematic critical account of, for example Plato, Luther, Jane Austen, Tom Stoppard or Stravinsky, the French Novel or Jewish American Literature, and each title is supported by reference features such as a chronology and guide to further reading. The online collection contains over 4,000 downloadable essays, taken from Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics; Philosophy, Religion and Culture; and Music.
- Google Books