LibGuides: BIOL 368: Bioinformatics Laboratory -- Dahlquist: Databases

Google Scholar

Can I use Google Scholar to link to LMU's resources from off-campus?

Google Scholar searches journal publishers' sites and other similar collections. When you search Google Scholar on-campus at LMU, it knows that you are affiliated with LMU and provides links to library subscriptions to journals and other resources. If you are not on campus, Google Scholar does not automatically provide links to LMU's resources. You can link to these resources by going to Google Scholar Preferences, searching Library Links for Loyola Marymount, and selecting "Loyola Marymount University (Full-text @ LMU Library).

Biology Databases

LMU only

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Biology, Health and Human Sciences, Biochemistry
Description: Research database containing both full text and other information sources (e.g. citations, abstracts). Includes materials from 1950-present. Citations often include links to full-text content from PubMed Central. Use the link in the library catalog or LibGuides to access LMU subscribed journals.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Book Chapters
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database containing links to other information sources. Includes materials from 1900-present. Provides access to the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975-present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles

GenBank
GenBank ® is the NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences. GenBank is part of the International Nucleotide Sequence Database Collaboration , which comprises the DNA DataBank of Japan (DDBJ), the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL), and GenBank at NCBI. These three organizations exchange data on a daily basis.
Protein Data Bank
The Protein Data Bank (PDB) archive is the single worldwide repository of information about the 3D structures of large biological molecules, including proteins and nucleic acids.
ArrayExpress
ArrayExpress is a core EBI database delivered by the Functional Genomics group. The database is a repository for functional genomics data from both microarray and high-throughput sequencing studies, many of which are supported by peer-reviewed publications. Data sets are either submitted directly to ArrayExpress and curated by a team of specialist biological curators, or are imported systematically from the NCBI Gene Expression Omnibus database on a weekly basis.

What if LMU Does't Have A Journal?

You can get articles from journals LMU does not own. Create an account in ILLiad to submit your request. It is free and takes up five working days.

Looking for a Specific Journal?

Browse Biology Journals

Full list of online and print journal holdings