Request articles that LMU does not own via your ILLiad account. If supplied by an ILLiad partner, delivery time (via e-mail) is 3-5 working days. If if has to be photocopied and mailed, it will take longer. For more information, see the DDS LibGuide.
Here are two tutorials for searching for articles in the ATLA Religion Database regarding Biblical texts, and one for search the sacred texts of World Religions. They have closed captioning, so you can use them with or without the audio track.
This list of publication links courtesy of John Jaeger, Doctoral Research and Reference Librarian, Dallas Baptist University. Note that many of these have archives of past journals, but some of these may not have an index. The indexing databases on this page may help identify specific articles from an individual journal title; then jump to this list to pick up the text. NOTE: Some of these links may no longer work; search title in Google, etc. to update; we hope to update the list in the near future.
The titles below link to the Journal List entry for the individual journal, which tells you what years and volumes we hold. It also tells you what we hold in online subscriptions, as well as in paper or microform.
Thus, you can browse through the issues of these titles at will. Of course, you will probably want to use the indicated indexing database that holds these journals and search the specific topic you want to address.
Feel free to ASK FOR HELP with these and other databases!
This link opens in a new windowSubjects: MANY
Description: General research database containing full text. Most recent 3-5 years of articles may not be available.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; E-books; Primary Sources; Book Reviews; Book Chapters
Subjects: Chicana/o and Latina/o Studies, Ethnic Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Book Chapters
Subjects: Chicana/o and Latina/o Studies
Description: Research database containing links to other information sources. Includes materials from 1965-present. Mainly focused on Latin America and the Caribbean. Approximately 80% of currently indexed titles include links to full text sources, many of those freely available through open access.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Trade/Professional Articles
Subjects: Women's and Gender Studies, History, International Relations
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1970-present. Mainly focused on North America and Europe with select international coverage.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines
An ATLA colleague, Sally Jo Shelton, has created this search engine, which compiles articles from different lists of free online articles, on the Google platform. Quality may vary widely, but 'and' searches seem to work. A supplementary tool to try when reaching out for more.
Google Scholar searches for articles from scholarly journals. If you designate Loyola Marymount University as your referent, it can give you links to that article in our collections (if you're part of the LMU Community). One precaution: the algorithm used by Google does not place the newest articles (or necessarily the best) at the top of your search, but those that have been clicked on the most -- just like regular Google searches.