Get Help
Skip to main content

Summer Undergraduate Research Program (SURP)

Workshop

“Working with Special Collections
Tuesday, May 29, 2018 @ 11am – 12pm WHH 342, William H. Hannon Library
Presentation by  Cynthia Becht, Head of LMU's Archives and Special Collections and Rachel Wen-Paloutzian, Archives and Special Collections Instruction Librarian.  Learn how to utilize archives in your research and hear specific examples of how others have done so in the past.

Visiting A&SC

Location & Hours:
LMU's Department of Archives & Special Collections is located on the third floor the William H. Hannon Library.  We are open Monday-Friday, 8am-5pm and welcome researchers from both the LMU community and the general public.

Appointments:
Use of the department's materials is by appointment only.  To make an appointment call 310-338-5710 or email Special.Collections@lmu.eduPlease make your appointment at least 24 hours in advance.  Our exhibit gallery is open to the public during our business hours.

LMU Students Uncover California History: The Del Valle Vestments

 

Before Wiebers and his students took on the project, relatively little was known about the sumptuous vestments within the Ygnacio del Valle Family Collection- or the richness of their context. Donated by Josefa del Valle de Forster in the 1940s, the vestments were used in the family's chapel on their homestead, Rancho Camulos.  Read more...

Visiting archives in England - one student's experience

          

 

The library is very happy to have a guest blogger this week, LMU senior Michael Madrinkian, who is writing to us from London:

Hello from England, LMU!  It’s my third day since coming here to research for my senior thesis.  I began work on the project at the beginning of the summer, and have finally made it here.  My research involves an anonymous, 16th century manuscript, held by our own Hannon Library’s special collections.  The manuscript, entitled The Riche Cheyne, contains all of the Biblical books of Proverbs and Ecclesiastes.  Read more...

 

Blog Posts

Research Paper

Student-curated exhibition in the Archives & Special Collections gallery

 

Library student employee Christiana Davis recently worked with Special Collections Metadata Librarian, Rachel Wen-Paloutzian, to select postcards and write display caption for the summer exhibit. After viewing and exploring postcards of various topics, Davis chose postcards representing alcohol advertisements.