Get Help
Skip to main content

Parent Guide to the William H. Hannon Library

A guide to the William H. Hannon Library for parents of LMU students. Learn about the library's wealth of resources and how your student can get personalized research help from our friendly reference librarians.

Search the Library Catalog

Search LINUS, the Catalog

 

 

Your student can use LINUS to search for books, e-books, videos, and other materials that LMU owns or has on reserve.

Circulating Collection

The library supports the teaching, learning, and research needs of the students, faculty, and staff of Loyola Marymount University, which is reflected in its collections. Library staff work with faculty in all academic departments to support your student's academic and research needs.

Media Collection

Our media collection has over 60,000 items, including streaming films, DVDs, CDs, LPs, and microfilm. We have all the Shakespeare plays on DVD, a great documentary collection, and a feature film collection of new titles and vintage classics.

Archives & Special Collections

Our Department of Archives & Special Collections houses a variety of rare and unique materials, which are available to your student (yes, even your freshman!) to get first-hand experience handling and using rare primary source materials for their research, or to just fulfill their curiosity. Highlights of the collection include a leaf from the Gutenberg Bible, William Shakespeare's First Folio, a 1481 edition of Dante's Divine Comedy illustrated by Botticelli, and the largest postcard collection west of the Mississippi River. You and your student are also welcome to visit our gallery space anytime during our open hour.

The Digital Collections showcase materials from Archives & Special Collections. Digitization is a value-added way of making library collections and materials available to anyone with an internet connection, around the world, around the clock.  Peruse historic postcards, learn more about the history of Catholicism in Los Angeles, and explore the American West in the Owens Valley of California from 1875 to 1930.

Reference Collection

The reference collection can be found in the Information Commons and includes nearly 20,000 volumes that provide access to the latest facts, figures, definitions, statistics, trends, data analyses, digests of literature criticism, maps, charts, biographical sketches, and many other formats of the world's basic information. This collection is an excellent starting point for research in any discipline. Additionally, the library subscribes to many electronic reference resources. 

E-Books

Your student has access to over 450,000 e-books, which can be read on a computer screen or a portable device, such as an iPad. E-books can be found by using LINUS, the LMU library catalog. All e-books listed in LINUS includes a link that you can click on to access the e-book. To search LINUS for e-books only, use the LINUS advanced search form. Enter your search term(s) and select "e-book" in the drop-down menu under "Material Type."

Databases

The library subscribes to over 200 databases, covering all academic disciplines offered by LMU. These databases provide access to over 69,000 online journal subscriptions. Additionally, the library subscribes to over 900 print periodicals that are available on Level 2 of the library.

Popular Reading Collection

The Popular Reading Collection (PRC) is available on Level 2 in the Rose Hills Reading Room, near the fireplace. This collection includes recent bestsellers in fiction and non-fiction. While most of the library's collection is intended for academic use, the PRC provides an outlet for your student to take a break from his or her studies and simply read for fun!

Curriculum Materials Collection

The Curriculum Materials Collection (CMC) includes children's literature: over 5,600 children's books for grades pre-K through 12, including both fiction and non-fiction. This collection includes picture, early readers, and chapter books, and young adult literature. The library buys all award-winning literature, such as Newbery Medal winners. This collection is primarily intended to support the learning and teaching needs of students and faculty in LMU's School of education, but the collection is available for all library users!