LibGuides: Film & Television: Films in Hannon Library

Search Strategy for Films in Hannon Library

To find specific types of films, Go to https://library.lmu.edu/
Put in your keyword search term, and note on the left hand side, there are multiple "filters" to narrow down your search. Use Genre/Form and any of the appropriate genres i.e. Feature films, Documentary films

Lots of times you just want a 'feature' film (not educational, not a documentary) --and you can use the "x" box next to whatever you want to exclude.

Streaming Video Collections

The Hannon Library has various research databases that provide both full streaming video and video clips. These are licensed for LMU both on and off campus areas:

Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General streaming video collection. If using Swank Digital Campus from off-campus, your LMU account information may be required. Includes course related, theatrically released films streamed for on and off-campus use.
Contents: Streaming Video
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General streaming video collection of documentaries, educational films, training films, and theatrical releases. Access may be restricted and require library assistance to view.
Contents: Streaming Video
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History, Political Science, African American Studies
Description: Streaming video collection from Alexander Street Press containing commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. Mainly focused on the United States.
Contents: Streaming Video
Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Film Television and Media Studies, Communication Studies, History
Description: General streaming video collection. Includes materials from 1968-present. The world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. The core collection includes evening news from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), CNN & Fox.
Contents: Streaming Video
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General streaming video collection containing educational films. Video may be used for classroom teaching, research, presentations, and educational non-commercial multimedia projects for use in educational institutions, provided no admission or other fees are charged for public viewing.
Contents: Streaming Video
Docuseek 2 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General streaming video collection of documentaries.
Contents: Streaming Video