Get Help
Skip to main content

Annotated Bibliography: How to Create One

A series of steps and advice in creating an Annotated Bibliography

Advanced and Graduate Work

For more advanced and graduate level annotated bibliographies, which cover more territory and are evaluative and analytical, take a look at this online guide from the University of Toronto.  It distinguishes various kinds and levels of annotation, and gives guidance for critical analysis involving theoretical and research aspects of the individual items, and some sample words to spark your analytical writing.

http://writing.utoronto.ca/advice/specific-types-of-writing/annotated-bibliography

Writing the Annotations

5. Review the materials

For each selection, write down a good summary of what it contains. If appropriate, add evaluative comments telling what is or is not covered, what particular viewpoint or school of thought is represented, any strengths or weaknesses you notice, and where it might fit into an overview of your topic. Be sure you have complete bibliographic information for each selection.



6. Construct the Bibliography (Citations AND Annotations/Comments)

Arrange items in a logical order. Use the proper form for citations, and be consistent. Ask at the Information Desk if you are not sure of the bibliographical format for an item.  Get help from the folks at the Academic Resource Center if you want writing or detailed citation help.

Suggestion: see the Writing LibGuide for preliminary help with citation styles.  See also Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL) citation helps and examples for the style you are using.