Biological Abstracts is a database which includes abstracts from peer-reviewed academic journal articles in the fields of biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, pre-clinical and experimental medicine, pharmacology, zoology, agriculture, and veterinary medicine published since 1969.
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM) bibliographic database that contains over 18 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM's Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).
Web of Science consists of three citation databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more. These databases contain the references cited by the authors of the articles. You can use these references to do cited reference searching. (This type of search allows you to find articles that cite a previously published work.) Web of Science includes Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Best Bets for Multidisciplinary / General Research
The databases listed below are excellent places to search for scholarly sources on topics that span multiple disciplines:
OneSearch+ is a single search box that allows researchers to look for books, articles, primary and secondary resources and relevant collections at the same time. It does this by accessing an index of a majority (but not all of) the library's collections and holdings.
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.