Last Updated: Nov 20, 2014
Welcome to the Library Guide for American Cultures! For more information, contact
OneSearch+ is a single search box that allows researchers to look for books, articles, primary and secondary resources and relevant collections at the same time. It does this by accessing an index of a majority (but not all of) the library's collections and holdings.
- Chicano Database
Index to material on Mexican-American topics and about Chicanos, with coverage back to the 1960s. Records added since 1992 have expanded its scope to include the broader Latino experience. Coverage includes over 2,470 journals on topics including art, education, health, history, labor, language, literature, mental health, and politics.
- America: History & Life
America: History & Life is a database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for journals from 1910 to present, this database is a bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages. (For history outside of the United States and Canada, see Historical Abstracts.)
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. The current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch™, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.