THST 698: HermeneuticsTHST 650: Liturgical TheologyTHST 653: Sacraments & SacramentalityTHST 673: Faith and Culture
This is the "Home" page of the "Theological Resources: Advanced" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
library home LMU Home MYLMU My Library Record contact the library library site index LMU Library Tumblr LMU Library Flickr LMU Library Instagram LMU Library Facebook LMU Library twitter Image Map

Theological Resources: Advanced   Tags: graduate_theology, proseminar, religion, theological_studies, theology, thst692  

A guide to theological resources available at LMU and beyond, and some helps for your writing.
Last Updated: May 29, 2015 URL: http://libguides.lmu.edu/TheologyAdvanced Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Get Research Help!

Face-to-face help is available at the Information Desk. Stop by!
Call us on the phone at 310.338.2790
E-mail your favorite Reference librarian
Contact us via chat or text us at (424) 570-3228

Get assistance via Virtual Reference, available 24/7!

Quick Access

For those with no need of guidance, here are links to some of the most popular resources for Theological Studies.

  • Cambridge Companions Complete Collection
    Cambridge Companions are introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods. All are collections of specially commissioned essays, shaped and introduced to appeal to student readers. Together the chapters add up to a systematic critical account of, for example Plato, Luther, Jane Austen, Tom Stoppard or Stravinsky, the French Novel or Jewish American Literature, and each title is supported by reference features such as a chronology and guide to further reading. The online collection contains over 4,000 downloadable essays, taken from Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics; Philosophy, Religion and Culture; and Music.
  • LINUS - Advanced (books & media)
  • ATLA Religion (journal articles & more)
  • ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
    ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index is the product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Library Association. The database covers all aspects of the Catholic faith and lifestyle, and includes over 470,000 index citations of articles and reviews published in Roman Catholic periodicals, Papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith that are authored by Catholics or produced by Catholic publishers. Indexing for CPLI Online corresponds to the print version, Catholic Periodical and Literature Index, published by the Catholic Library Association and covers content from over 200 periodicals. Coverage in the database dates back to 1981.
  • Religious & Theological Abstracts
  • JSTOR (deep, but not current, full-text journals)

Library Quick Links

 

Welcome!

This guide was put together to help you locate useful sources for advanced papers, projects, and personal interests in Theology. Both online and print resources are listed and linked to.  For an explanation of the tabs, see the  "What's in This Guide?" box  below.

Contact Tony Amodeo (see Profile in the righthand box) or any Reference Librarian for help when you need it.  Or use the helps and chat service by clicking on the Get Help button in the box at the left.  Happy searching!

What's in this Guide

Select the Tab/Page above which is most appropriate for your search. Here is a little something about some of the pages:

Background Information: This page contains links and some call numbers for reference tools and other materials which get you started and give overviews which can help you broaden or narrow your focus to a searchable topic. You will also expand your search vocabulary, see what some experts think, and often get a recommendation for a good book or article on your topic.

Expert Lists and Directories: This page has links, and sometimes descriptions, of online sites that list good, selected and examined Web sites for theology and religion. This is much more efficient than taking a chance that a browser will give you reliable, authoritative sites on your topic. These lists are mostly created by professionals in the field, graduate departments, and dedicated organizations.

Theological Texts: Collections: These are usually multi-authored texts brought together in one Web site. They range from early Christian and other relgious texts to more modern theologians' work.

Theological Texts: Individual Authors These are as stated. Search for the desired author on the list. Note that many modern authors' works are not available online due to copyright. Some of the items, therefore, are online bibliographies that can help you track down a particular book or article, or get correct/complete information to make your hunt easier.

Biblical StudiesA collection of versions, sample tools and helps for studying the Bible.

Writing Helps: This page has helps for your in-text and footnote citations and writing style, for locating statistics, polls etc. from organizations, and a couple of helps regarding the avoidance of plagiarism.

Art & Images: A number of Web sites, library-subscribed databases, online reference tools and more to help you find images to use in your presentations, papers, and teaching, or just for your edification.  Just pay attention to copyright issues.

The Cite Sources: tab gives you links to the Chicago Style Manual online, and other helps for citing your sources.

The SCATLA: tab informs you about privileges LMU graduate theology students may obtain at several other theological libraries in Southern California.

Have a question about Library services available to you?  You can get a lot of information from our page on Library Services for Students.  If you don't find the answer there, just get hold of us via the contact information in the Get Research Help box at the top left.

      
     

    Rosette

     Rosette Window, 13c
    Modena Cathedral, begun 1099 C.E.

    photo: T. Amodeo 2010

    Reference Librarian

    Profile Image
    Desirae Zingarelli-Sweet
    Contact Info
    Hannon Library, Room 127
    (310) 338-7681
    Send Email
     

    Presentation

    Here is the Powerpoint used in the ProSeminar Orientation session.  Skip through it to find that bit of information you remember being presented.  Or contact me via the information in the box above!

     

    Library News

    Loading Loading...
    blank padding
    © 2015 Loyola Marymount University | William H. Hannon Library | 1 LMU Drive, MS 8200, Los Angeles, CA 90045 | 310.338.2788 |
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip